Some of my favorite consults are those in which I get the opportunity to discuss the history of immigration reform in this country. I often pose the following question to clients, “name two administrations in the past 40 years that have passed comprehensive immigration reform.” Now at this point, my clients inevitably start naming democratic administrations and they usually get one of the answers correct landing on Clinton. However, without fail they are astonished when I tell them that along side Clinton was none other than the Gipper himself. That’s right, the administration of Ronald Wilson Reagan. Now I clearly understand the shock expressed by my clients when I throw out that name, I mean he was the pinacle of conservative values, Mr. Conservative himself.  When considered in light of the rhetoric espoused by many conservatives today that shock is easy enough to understand. There are many reasons why conservatives should embrace immigration reform, not the least of which is that it would have a direct effect on our economy. For example, did you know that 40% of Fortune 500 companies were founded by immigrants or their children? Don’t believe it? Read this article from Forbes http://www.forbes.com/sites/stuartanderson/2011/06/19/40-percent-of-fortune-500-companies-founded-by-immigrants-or-their-children/

For more information on immigration reform and the GOP see- http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2011/11/07/twenty-five-years-after-reagans-amnesty-bill-conservatives-should-support/

That’s right, even folks at Fox think Republicans have gone waterboard, I mean overboard on the whole immigration front.

The Houston Immigration Lawyers at the Nossa Law Office provide immigration services to local and international individuals, families, workers, students, investors and small businesses. 

24 E. Greenway Plaza, Suite 1110, Houston, TX 77046

www.nossalaw.com

Houston Immigration Attorneys

